Freelance and self-employment residence permit
Aufenthaltserlaubnis zur selbständigen Tätigkeit (§21 AufenthG)
The closest thing Germany has to a route for independent workers. It is not a remote-work permit: the authorities want to see that your activity serves a local economic interest, which in practice means German clients.
Who it is for. Members of the liberal professions (Freiberufler) and other self-employed people with a viable plan and, usually, German client interest.
Worth knowing. No income threshold is published for this route. Each Ausländerbehörde assesses whether the activity will support you, and practice differs substantially between cities. Applicants over 45 must additionally show adequate pension provision. The €2,500 figure here is an informational benchmark, not a legal requirement.
- Income required
- Not stated
- Savings required
- Not stated
- Investment required
- None
- Application fee
- €100
- Processing time
- 60–180 days
- Permission lasts
- 36 months
- Permanent residence
- After 3 years
- Citizenship
- After 5 years
Renewable
Sources
Worth knowing. No income threshold is published for this route. Each Ausländerbehörde assesses whether the activity will support you, and practice differs substantially between cities. Applicants over 45 must additionally show adequate pension provision. The €2,500 figure here is an informational benchmark, not a legal requirement.
Check this against
- Aufenthaltsgesetz (Residence Act) — including §21 self-employment and §18g EU Blue Card (opens in a new tab)Bundesministerium der Justiz · Government department
- Federal Office for Migration and Refugees — residence titles and integration requirements (opens in a new tab)BAMF — Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge · National immigration authority
- Make it in Germany — the official portal for skilled workers (opens in a new tab)Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Labour · Government department