Skip to content

Student residence permit

Study

For people admitted to a German higher education institution. Public universities charge little or no tuition, and graduates get an 18-month permit to find work.

Who it is for. Students with a place at a recognised institution and proof of maintenance.

Researched, not independently verifiedlow confidenceReviewed 20 September 2026

Worth knowing. The blocked-account amount is revised annually.

Fact
Income required
Not stated
Savings required
€13,092
Investment required
None
Application fee
Not stated
Processing time
45–150 days
Permission lasts
24 months

Renewable

Permanent residence
After 5 years
Citizenship
After 5 years
Remote work not coveredLocal employment allowedFamily not coveredInsurance required
Apply through the authority, not through us: www.make-it-in-germany.com (opens in a new tab)

Sources

Researched, not independently verifiedlow confidenceReviewed 20 September 2026

Worth knowing. The blocked-account amount is revised annually.

Check this against

Reference dataset, compiled 20 September 2026. This is a compiled reference dataset. Every figure is drawn from official material and cited, but no record has been signed off by a named editor working through the review console, so nothing here is marked verified. Immigration rules change without notice and consulates apply them differently. Check the linked authority before you act on anything. This site is not legal advice.