Skip to content

Highly Skilled Professional

Employment

A points-based status scoring education, income, age and Japanese ability. At 80 points permanent residence becomes available after one year, which is the fastest route Japan offers.

Who it is for. High earners with advanced qualifications and a Japanese employer or business.

Researched, not independently verifiedmedium confidenceReviewed 20 September 2026

Worth knowing. A score of 70 points gives the status and permanent residence after three years; 80 points reduces that to one year. Points come from education, professional experience, income, age, Japanese language ability and research achievements.

Fact
Income required
JP¥3,000,000

a year

Savings required
Not stated
Investment required
None
Application fee
Not stated
Processing time
30–90 days
Permission lasts
60 months

Renewable

Permanent residence
After 1 years
Citizenship
After 5 years
Remote work not coveredLocal employment allowedFamily can join
Apply through the authority, not through us: www.isa.go.jp (opens in a new tab)

Sources

Researched, not independently verifiedmedium confidenceReviewed 20 September 2026

Worth knowing. A score of 70 points gives the status and permanent residence after three years; 80 points reduces that to one year. Points come from education, professional experience, income, age, Japanese language ability and research achievements.

Check this against

Reference dataset, compiled 20 September 2026. This is a compiled reference dataset. Every figure is drawn from official material and cited, but no record has been signed off by a named editor working through the review console, so nothing here is marked verified. Immigration rules change without notice and consulates apply them differently. Check the linked authority before you act on anything. This site is not legal advice.